Update…

Yes, yes, I’m still here! Though just barely, I admit. Since Memories of the Future is entering its third weeks without a new posting I figure an update is in order.

My “disappearance” can be attributed to a number of factors: packing up my best friend and (now former) roommate and sending her off to San Francisco State to start her graduate studies career, then moving out of our apartment and making sure it was ready for the walk-through, figuring out my job situation (long story short: they’re giving me the month of September off), family issues, coordinating my upcoming trip to Toronto and the just the ugly, unavoidable fact I just haven’t been terribly inspired lately, at least as far as writing, film and books go.

I’ve actually been pouring a lot of energy into music lately—I’ve caught 60’s Yé-yé/ Euro-pop fever again and have been subsequently scanning blogs, MySpace tribute pages and the outer reaches of iTunes for new tracks. I’ve managed to get my hands on some rather sublime stuff (or I think so anyway) from everyone from the usual suspects such as Françoise Hardy, Sylvie Vartan and France Gall on down to new-to-me obscurities as Les Flechéttes, Annie Phillipe, Les Roche Martin, Les Poppys, The Orchids and more.

I do have two new reviews up at DVD Verdict: a slightly extended version of my thoughts on Funny Ha Ha and Alain Robbe-Grillet’s rather unfortunate La Belle Captive.

I’m off to Toronto for my first TIFF, and I couldn’t be more excited. The press pass for DVDV fell through at the last minute and by the dust caused by all the confusion cleared I bought a pass too late to take advantage of the Advance Order system, which is disappointing. But I spent some time on the phone with the box office today and got some tips on my best options at this point and spent most of the afternoon mapping out various possibilities. Luckily most of the films I want to see anyway aren’t the ones as likely to fill up as quickly, and so I’m hoping for the best, and whatever happens I’m just excited to be going (it’ll be my first time to our northerly neighbor), meeting up with a bunch of people and spending some time with my boyfriend.

This last weekend I drove up to Los Angeles to meet up with my good friend Kevin from Shooting Down Pictures as well as IMDb Classics Board legend Addison de Witt, who I met for the first time. I had a great time.

Anyway, that’s more or less right now.

-jesse

2 thoughts on “Update…

  1. I’ve been absent from my blog as well, but that isn’t new. I have so much reading to do for school! It doesn’t help that I spend all evening watching tennis. Anyway, have fun in Toronto! I went to Canada (the Vancouver/Victoria area) a few years ago and really loved it.

  2. Kathleen-

    Well, school is a legitimate reason for an absence… and some days I might even say tennis is too. :D Good luck with all the reading, I’m actually slightly jealous! And thanks for the email last week, I’m going to try and get back to you before I leave.

    -jesse

Leave a Reply

